Who is standing for parliament in Enfield – and how you can vote

The deadline to register to vote in the general election is on Tuesday, 18th June

Ballot box
Ballot box (credit Element5 Digital on Unsplash)

Twenty-two candidates are standing for election to the House of Commons across three Enfield seats on Thursday, 4th July.

Voters in Edmonton and Winchmore Hill, Enfield North, and Southgate and Wood Green – which also includes parts of neighbouring Haringey borough – will all have between seven and eight candidates to choose from when they head to the polls next month.

Eligible voters are being encouraged to double check if they are registered to vote and ensure they are aware of the ID they need to produce when voting at polling stations. It will be the first-ever general election in the UK held under the new rules requiring voters to prove their identity.

Registration takes approximately five minutes and can be made online via the government’s website at The deadline to register to vote in the general election is Tuesday, 18th June, at 11.59pm.

Once registration is complete, the applicant will receive confirmation from Enfield Council’s electoral services team they have been added to the electoral register and are entitled to vote.

Votes can be cast in person at a polling station, by post, or through a proxy vote using a trusted individual. Voting by post is the easiest way to vote as photo ID is not required. The deadline to apply for a postal vote is 5pm on Wednesday, 19th June, but residents must have registered to vote beforehand. 

Acceptable forms of ID include passports, driving licences and freedom passes, as well as many others. A full list can be found here. Copies of ID on a mobile phone or tablet device will not be accepted.

If residents do not have valid photo ID, a free Voter Authority Certificate can be obtained from the council’s electoral services team. The deadline to apply for this certificate is 5pm on Wednesday, 26th June.

The full list of candidates for the three Enfield constituencies was confirmed last week and can be found at the bottom of this article.

Voters in Winchmore Hill have now been moved into a newly expanded Edmonton and Winchmore Hill constituency following a series of boundary changes agreed last year. The previous Enfield Southgate constituency has also been merged with Hornsey and Wood Green to form an elongated seat called Southgate and Wood Green, which contains seven stations on the Piccadilly Line from Turnpike Lane to Cockfosters. Ponders End residents, meanwhile, have been moved into the Enfield North constituency.

If you are not sure which constituency you now live in, enter your postcode here.

Ian Davis, chief executive and constituency returning officer at Enfield Council, said: “We want to ensure all eligible residents in Enfield are able to vote in person or by post, so it is important those who have recently moved in to the borough, or are not currently on the register take action now to ensure their voice is heard.

“Voting at polling stations has changed, so it’s important if you wish to vote in person, you must produce appropriate photographic ID. It’s important to familiarise yourself the requirements sooner rather than later.

“The process has never been simpler as all of the resources are available online. You can also contact our Electoral Services team by phone or email for advice.” 

To find out more about how to apply to vote by post, voting by proxy or obtaining a Voter Authority Certificate:
Call 020 3821 1813
Email [email protected]

Register to vote:

Full list of candidates for three Enfield constituencies:

Edmonton and Winchmore Hill

  • Yemi Awoloa (Christian Peoples Alliance)
  • Luke Balnave (Green Party)
  • Denise Headley (Workers Party)
  • Zoe Huggins (Conservative Party)
  • Tim Martin (Liberal Democrats)
  • Kate Osamor (Labour & Co-operative Party)
  • Khalid Sadur (independent)
  • Neville Watson (Reform UK)

Enfield North

  • Aishat Anifowoshe (Workers Party)
  • Stephen Bird (Reform UK)
  • Feryal Clark (Labour Party)
  • Chris Dey (Conservative Party)
  • Ertan Karpazli (independent)
  • Guy Russo (Liberal Democrats)
  • Isobel Whittaker (Green Party)

Southgate and Wood Green

  • Bambos Charalambous (Labour Party)
  • Lauren Fulbright (Liberal Democrats)
  • Charith Gunawardena (Green Party)
  • Geoff Moseley (Workers Party)
  • Lucy O’Sullivan (Reform UK)
  • Eric Sukumaran (Conservative Party)
  • Karl Vidol (Trade Unionist and Socialist Coalition)

No news is bad news 

Independent news outlets like ours – reporting for the community without rich backers – are under threat of closure, turning British towns into news deserts. 

The audiences they serve know less, understand less, and can do less. 

If our coverage has helped you understand our community a little bit better, please consider supporting us with a monthly, yearly or one-off donation. 

Choose the news. Don’t lose the news.

Monthly direct debit 

Annual direct debit

£5 per month supporters get a digital copy of each month’s paper before anyone else, £10 per month supporters get a digital copy of each month’s paper before anyone else and a print copy posted to them each month. £50 annual supporters get a digital copy of each month's paper before anyone else.  

Donate now with Pay Pal

More information on supporting us monthly or yearly 

More Information about donations